Keeping a child safe is every parent or guardian's top priority. Unfortunately, child accidents happen throughout Missouri and Kansas, and burns are one of the leading types of injuries suffered by children. In the United States, fire or burn injuries account for the third most common type of injury death for children 5 years of age to 9 years of age and the fifth most common cause of injury death for children 1 year of age to 4 years of age.
If your child suffered a burn injury in a care or other type of accident in Missouri or Kansas, you don’t have to go through it alone. Call our Kansas City burn injury attorney today at 816-203-0143 for a free consultation. He'll help you with a strategy to receive the compensation you deserve.
Child Burn Injuries in Kansas and Missouri
Burns and the subsequent therapy cause one of the most agonizing pain imaginable. Burns are very different than the typical type of injury a child suffers. Unlike scrapes, bruises, and the occasional fracture, burns can result in excruciating pain, permanent damage, and even death.
The physical recovery from a burn is often accompanied by long-term psychological challenges. Burn injury treatment, rehabilitation, and therapy can result in massive hospital bills and jeopardize your family’s medical and financial future.
How to Prove Fault After a Child Burn Injury
Generally, the party responsible for the accident that caused the accident that led to your child's burns is legally responsible for the hospital expenses and other costs that resulted. We will file a lawsuit against the liable party or make a demand to their insurance company, as your child has the right to recover medical costs and other damages for their injury.
However, before any of these parties can be made to pay for your child's medical bills, it's important for us to prove that they were liable for the accident that led to your child's burns. To achieve that, we must be able to prove:
- The child was owed a duty of care
- The liable party breached this duty of care
- The failure to show care caused the accident
- Your child sustained the burns as a direct failure to exercise that duty of care
It can be challenging to prove that a party was negligent and that they should pay for your child's medical expenses. That's why it's critical for our personal injury attorney in Kansas City to guide you with a strategy. With our law firm's experience, we will help in maximizing the value of your child's personal injury claim so your family’s future is take care of.
What’s the Value of a Child Burn Injury in MO or KS?
Under the laws of Missouri or Kansas, you have the right to recover compensation if your child suffered burn injuries due to another party's negligence. However, there's no one-size-fits-all formula to calculate exactly what your child may recover.
Several factors impact the potential value of a burn injury claim in Missouri and Kansas, including:
- The severity of the burn
- Any permanent damages, scarring or disfigurement or long-term disabilities
- The amount of any past and future medical bills
- The amount of past and future pain and suffering and lost enjoyment of life
- How negligent the other party was in causing the accident
- How your child sustained the burn injuries, and whether they shared in some fault
- The amount of insurance available
Evaluating all these factors can be complex and difficult, so our personal injury attorney will consult with you and provide a strategy forward about your case.
Types of Compensation after a Child Burn Injury
Having legal representation increases your chances of recovering:
- Specific damages - costs your child incurs from the burn injuries, such as medical expenses, therapy, and rehabilitation, consulting a burn specialist, travel expenses, and medication.
- General damages - those your child would reasonably experience due to the nature of the burn injuries, such as pain and suffering, psychological trauma, anguish, diminished quality of life, and impairment.
- Punitive damages - apply if a judge determines the negligent party's actions were malicious with wanton disregard for your child's safety. Punitive damages are designed to punish the negligent party.
As a parent of a minor child, Kansas and Missouri law provides you with a legal means to hold the at-fault party responsible. However, in most cases, settlements of a minor’s claim require court approval. This is another reason why a child injury case benefits from hiring our experienced personal injury attorney.
Our Child Injury Attorney Can Help
It's devastating for any parent or guardian to see their child suffer. The situation is even worse when these injuries result in mountains of medical bills. Due to the complicated nature of child burn injuries, you should contact our personal injury attorney in Kansas City, Missouri.
Call our office today, let us help hold the negligent party responsible. Our personal injury attorney has extensive experience dealing with child burn injuries. Contact us at 816-203-0143, for a free consultation and find out how we can help. You can also instantly download our free book Crash Course: 9 Mistakes That Can Wreck Your Accident Claim.
What to Do if Your Child Suffers a Burn in Missouri or Kansas
5 Things to Know About Child Burn Injuries In Kansas City